Modified News

Diemel’s first USMTS win happens Friday at the Masters

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. (June 18)—A non-stop 40-lap main event capped Friday night’s festivities during the second night of the 22nd Annual Masters at the Cedar Lake Speedway and A.J. Diemel put $5,000 in his pocket after his first USMTS victory at his home track.

The early stages of the feature race saw Dereck Ramirez lead early on while Jimmy Mars chased the current Summit USMTS National Championship fueled by Casey’s points leader.

Mars blasted around the outside to lead the fifth lap, but Ramirez found a rhythm and reeled the veteran back in to take command again on the ninth lap.

Meanwhile, Diemel was working his way back around Rodney Sanders for third and then set his sights on Ramirez after disposing of Mars midway through the contest.

After finding a speedway line through the middle of the high-banked racetrack, Diemel made the pass for the lead with 28 complete and drove away over the final dozen laps to secure the victory.

Dereck Ramirez remained second to the finish line with Sanders, FK Rod Ends Charger Award winner Jake O’Neil and Cory Mahder completing the top five.

Mars held off Dustin Sorensen for sixth, eighth place went to Terry Phillips, Tanner Mullens came from 15th on the grid to claim the ninth spot and Carlos Ahumada Jr. was the tenth driver to cross beneath the checkered flag.

CASEY’S “A” MAIN (40 laps):

  1. (3) 89 A.J. Diemel, Elk Mound, Wis.
  2. (1) 4R Dereck Ramirez, Woodward, Okla.
  3. (4) 20 Rodney Sanders, Happy, Texas
  4. (12) 0 Jake O’Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
  5. (7) 55 Cory Mahder, Elk Mound, Wis.
  6. (2) 444J Jimmy Mars, Menomonie, Wis.
  7. (9) 19 Dustin Sorensen, Rochester, Minn.
  8. (8) 75 Terry Phillips, Springfield, Mo.
  9. (15) 02 Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan.
  10. (11) 65X Carlos Ahumada Jr., El Paso, Texas
  11. (16) 27X Calvin Iverson, Eleva, Wis.
  12. (10) 21 Jacob Bleess, Chatfield, Minn.
  13. (6) 89X Jesse Glenz, Chippewa Falls, Wis.
  14. (5) 21X Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn.
  15. (21) 49JR Jake Timm, Winona, Minn.
  16. (23) 40 Kevin Adams, Cameron, Wis.
  17. (14) 69 Lucas Schott, Chatfield, Minn.
  18. (20) 196M Mike McKinney (R), Plainfield, Ill.
  19. (25) 60 Dan Ebert, Lake Shore, Minn.
  20. (18) 4W Tyler Wolff, Fayetteville, Ark.
  21. (29) 18A Landon Atkinson, Little Falls, Minn.
  22. (19) 12 Jason Hughes, Watts, Okla.
  23. (27) 65 Tyler Davis, Haysville, Kan.
  24. (24) 15W Alex Williamson, Rushford, Minn.
  25. (30) 19SB Lance Mari, El Centro, Calif.
  26. (13) 85 Jayson Good (R), Watertown, S.D.
  27. (17) 14W Clayton Wagamon, Ramsey, Minn.
  28. (28) 87 Darron Fuqua, Mayetta, Kan.
  29. (22) 44 Adam Hensel, Baldwin, Wis.
  30. (26) 444 Brooks Strength (R), Raymond, Miss.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *